A Kenya Catch Up

Here in glorious West Sussex it feels like that in recent months we have trundled along with the normal rhythms of our lives and nothing of much note has happened, apart from one very special piece of family news: In April Christina and James welcomed Archer David into their family, a little brother for Huxley and Otis. So we now have two grandchildren in New Zealand and five more here in the UK.

For our friends in Kenya it has been a very different story.

Over the past few weeks our phones have been buzzing with notifications as our colleagues in the North Rift have kept us updated on the peace-building work they have undertaken in local communities  during the run up to the recent election. It has taken us right back to our early days in Kenya and the intense three months of work we did with our Kenyan colleagues to prepare for the 2013 election.

What a time that was! The excitement of the possibility of change, tempered by the fear of the history of post-election violence repeating itself but covered over by an almost tangible banner of hope that peace would prevail.

And peace did indeed prevail.

We know that these are early days post this recent election and that the work of our friends is still very much needed as they campaign to give people a voice and strengthen a commitment to justice and peace.

So they have our hearts and our prayers.

2 thoughts on “A Kenya Catch Up

  1. Dearest Liza and David, I love reading your blog and thank you for letting me and I’m sure many others take part in your and your familiy’s life. Although we haven’t seen each other for many years I still feel close to both of you. I was meaning to get back in touch for quite a while now. My mother got 70 a couple of years ago and her wish was to take a little trip with my brother an me. We made her a few suggestions – she picked (not entirely surprising) the Isles of Scilly. You introduced me to that lovely spot nobody outside England seems to know about all those years ago, and we are all very excited to head out there soon.
    I’m sending you all my love, Dani xxx

We'd love to have your feedback so please do leave a comment